Doom Patrol

Doom Patrol on Ebay
Doom Patrol Doom Patrol was a DC Comics title that ran for 35 issues between March 1964 and October 1968.

The original Doom Patrol characters consisted of super-powered misfits, whose 'gifts' caused them alienation and trauma. The Doom Patrol was canceled in 1968, and the team was killed off in the final issue, Doom Patrol #121 (September-October 1968).

Doom Patrol first appeared in 1963, when the DC title My Greatest Adventure, an adventure anthology title, was being converted to a superhero format. The task assigned writer Arnold Drake was to create a team that fit both formats. With fellow writer Bob Haney and artist Bruno Premiani, he created the Doom Patrol, a team of superpowered misfits regarded as freaks by the world at large. It first appeared in My Greatest Adventure #80, June 1963. Caulder motivated the original Doom Patrol, bitter from being isolated from the world, to use their powers for the greater good. The series was such a success that My Greatest Adventure was officially retitled The Doom Patrol beginning with issue #86.

The Doom Patrol's rogues gallery matched the strange, weird tone of the series. Villains included the immortal General Immortus, the shapeshifting Animal-Vegetable-Mineral Man, and the Brotherhood of Evil led by the Brain, an actual brain kept alive by technology. The Brotherhood of Evil also included the intelligent gorilla Monsieur Mallah and Madame Rouge, a shapeshifter.

When the popularity of the book waned and the publisher canceled it, Drake ended the series in a dramatic manner: he killed off the entire Doom Patrol. In Doom Patrol #121 (September-October 1968), the Doom Patrol sacrificed their lives to save the small fishing village of Codsville, Maine. This marked the first time in comics' history that a canceled book ended by having its entire cast of main characters die.